- ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
History & literature eBooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
9,000+ encyclopedia articles and research updates, plus videos, animations, charts, and images, as well as biographies of scientists.
- African-American Poetry
Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.
- American Poetry
Find poems written from 1650-1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and Herman Melville.
- American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Life histories of former slaves compiled from 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
An educational resource from the North Carolina Museum of Art. Explore works of art that are teachable across disciplines and grade levels. Includes lesson plans, concept maps and portfolios.
- Bills from the NC General Assembly
Current and historical bills from the NC General Assembly. Search by attribute, bill number, chamber, committee, and more.
- Business Link North Carolina
Programs and resources for people starting a new business or moving a business to North Carolina.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Complete
Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.
- Canadian Newsstand Complete
Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.
- Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics, with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.
- Centros para el Control y Prevención de Enfermedades
Información y recursos para mantener la salud y prevenir enfermedades.
- CQ Researcher Online
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
- CQ Weekly
News and analysis on how legislation is shaped. Coverage of bills, votes, amendments, committees, and more.
- Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report)
The Uniform Crime Reporting Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.
- Criminal Justice Periodicals
Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
- eBooks on EBSCOhost
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
- ebrary Academic and Public Library Complete
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
- Economic Development Information System
Statistical, analytical and mapping tool designed to aid economic and community development decision making.
- English Poetry
Find poems written from 600 to 1900 including Thomas Percy, Walter Scott, Robert Dodsley, Francis Turner Palgrave, and more.
- Faber Poetry
Find poems written by modern poets such as Wendy Cope, T. S. Eliot, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Tom Paulin, Sylvia Plath and more.
- Films on Demand
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
- Go Ask Alice
Go Ask Alice! answers questions about alcohol & other drugs; emotional health; fitness & nutrition; general health; relationships; and sexual & reproductive health.
- Government Employee Telephone Directory
A searchable alphabetical listing and departmental directory are included.
Journals, magazines, and medical dictionaries on minority health, as well as prevention and self-care on a variety of topics such as pregnancy, HIV, diabetes, women's health, and more.
- HealthFinder en español
Noticias y herramientas interactivas para mantenerse saludable con información de organizaciones gubernamentales.
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
- HIV InSite
Up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy. Includes information on HIV in other areas of the world.
- Home Grown eBooks Collection
A collection of more than 1,000 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
- Hoover's Company Profiles
Information for over 40,000 companies, including company overview, industry information, leadership and historical financials.
- InfoTrac Newsstand
Full text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national, international and local newspapers, as well as thousands of images and radio and TV transcripts. Includes full text of The New York Times (1985-present).
- Job Openings
Job openings: NC state government jobs, America's Job Bank, and additional job search resources.
Information about children from before birth through adolescence. Topics include: emotional development, nutrition, parenting, first aid, and infections.
- Lab Tests Online
Understand lab tests that are part of routine care, as well as diagnosis and treatment. Search by test, condition, or recommended screenings.
Find information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more.
- LearningExpress Library
Practice tests and self-paced courses for students & adult learners. ASVAB, GED, GRE, SAT, resume and cover letter writing courses and more.
- Literature Resource Center
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Health education to patients and the general public on topics such as autism, influenza, bipolar disorder, breast cancer, smoking, depression, and more.
- MedLine Plus
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more.
- MedLine Plus Drugs & Supplements
Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements.
- Merck Manual Home Edition
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.
Online books on a variety of topics including art, language learning, medical, health, history, and more.
- National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive descriptions of cancer research programs and clinical trials.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Complementary and alternative healing practices such as aromatherapy, acupuncture, and herbal medicine. Offers resources and pamphlets.
- National Institute of Mental Health
Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.
- Natural Standard
Evidence-based reviews on dietary supplements and complementary and alternative medicine therapies, including herbs, supplements, vitamins, diets, nutrition, exercise, and complementary practices and modalities.
- NC ECHO
Online access to the special collections of North Carolina's libraries, archives, museums, historic sites, and other cultural institutions.
- NC Health Info
Online guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina.
- NC LIVE Video Collection
PBS Video Collection via NC LIVE
- NC Public Schools Statistical Profile
NCDPI reports, including breakdowns by school system
Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
- NIH Senior Health
Health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
- North Carolina Agricultural Statistics Service
Provides statistical information in table, map, and graph format on farm animals, crops, cash receipts, and weather.
- North Carolina Curriculum
Specific DPI goals and objectives for classroom subjects and grade levels for North Carolina.
- North Carolina Driver's Manual
Current DMV driver's manual in English and Spanish.
- North Carolina Education Directory
Contains addresses and phone numbers of every NC public, federal, or charter school, all employees of the DPI, contact information for education organizations, associations, and educational material suppliers.
- North Carolina General Assembly
Includes links to find representatives and senators for both the NCGA and the US Congress by county, district, and Zip code.
- North Carolina Home Page
Provides comprehensive and online services for citizens, businesses, and state employees of North Carolina.
- North Carolina Periodicals Index
Index of regional publications about a wide range of North Carolina-related topics.
- North Carolina Public Health
Information on health precautions, links to local health departments, how to get birth certificates.
- North Carolina State Government Publications Collection
Informational brochures and pamphlets, reports (annual, biennial, statistical), serials (newsletters, checklists, magazines), handbooks, studies, and other information resources produced by state government.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.
- OneClick Audio
Downloadable audio books on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players.
- OneClick eBooks
Over 80 classic fiction titles available for checkout and download.
In-depth business information on companies in North America, United Kingdom, Europe, Asia-Pacific as well as emerging markets, with the ability to search for companies by name, by geography or across industries.
- Open Library
A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium
Reference titles in core subject areas, including quick reference articles, illustrations, photographs, line diagrams, maps, and tables.
- OxResearch reports from Oxford Analytica
Articles analyzing economic and political developments worldwide.
- Pharmaceutical News Index
News on medical technology, research and legislative developments.
Language learning for 80 languages and ESL for 50 non-English languages, including audio lessons, interactive textbooks, quizzes, phrasebooks and pronunciation analysis. Users must create a personal account to use this resource.
- ProQuest Accounting & Tax Database
Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues.
- ProQuest Asian Business and Reference
Detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere.
- ProQuest Banking Information Source
National and international information on the financial services industry, including banking trends, products, companies, issues and operations.
- ProQuest Biology Journals
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
- ProQuest Career & Technical Education
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
- ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
- ProQuest Computing
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
- ProQuest Education Journals
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
- ProQuest Entrepreneurship
Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
- ProQuest Environmental Science Package
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
- ProQuest European Business
Trade journals and scholarly journals with a focus on Europe.
- ProQuest Family Health
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
- ProQuest Health & Medical Complete
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
- ProQuest Health Management
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
- ProQuest Military
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
- ProQuest Newsstand
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
- ProQuest Political Science
Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
- ProQuest Psychology Journals
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
- ProQuest Religion
Religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history and related archaeology.
- ProQuest Research Library
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
- ProQuest Science Journals
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
- ProQuest Social Science Journals
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
- ProQuest Sociology
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
- ProQuest Telecommunications
Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
- Regional Accounts Data - Local Area Personal Income
Personal income and population summary estimates, detailed county annual tables of income and employment, wage and salary summary estimates.
- Sanborn Maps North Carolina
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities.
- Science in Context
Reference content, plus magazines, journals, news sources, experiments, and more, covering earth science, life science, space, technology, mathematics, science history, and biography.
Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
- SIRS Knowledge Source
Articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework.
- Snapshot Series (market reports set)
Over 8,000 international market research overviews focusing on 40+ industries in more than 40 countries worldwide, including regional summaries. It provides market size, share, forecasts and segments.
- State Center for Health Statistics
Health-related research and reports and a collection of health statistics.
- State Data Center
The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings
- State Demographics
Provides state, county, and municipal population estimates and projections by year, age, race, and sex.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- Tax Forms via NC Department of Revenue
Downloadable versions of current North Carolina individual and corporate income, franchise, sales, and withholding tax forms.
- Teaching Positions in North Carolina
Links to the information needed to apply for a teaching job in North Carolina.
- Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
62 of the most important African-American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
- Twentieth Century American Poetry
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.
- Twentieth-Century English Poetry
Modernist poems (1900-1999): W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, D.H. Lawrence, Carol Ann Duffy, and more.
- Wall Street Journal
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).
- Women's Health
Resource on women’s health topics: pregnancy, body image, HIV/AIDS, girls health, heart health, menopause, mental health, quitting smoking, and domestic violence.